RSS

Gnosis?

10 Nov

I was asked the other day what gnosis is. Until I went to answer the question, I thought it was an easy answer. Then I realised I wasn’t quite sure how to go about explaining it.

Defining it is probably fairly subjective. It would depend on your teachers, your personal knowledge and psychology, and what you hoped to achieve through practicing gnosis.

Basically, the philosophy is, to know god/the universe look within yourself. If you know, really know and comprehend, yourself then the mysteries of the universe will become known. Classes consist of a lot of psychology discussion, teaching of what other gnostic masters (such a Buddha and Jesus) discovered as truth, and other teachings to help us understand the different aspects of the world and ourselves. Currently we’re learning about chakras.

Instead of picking a single text or god or person to follow, gnosis looks at all esoteric philosophies and sees within them similar beliefs, symbols and recorded experiences. Thus it is not a religion, but a philosophy which guides one’s life.

For the most part what this means is meditating (calming the mind and settling into the space between the thoughts), and examining your own mind and responses in daily life in order to see the habitual ego that takes over in different situations (this examination can also take place during meditations).

What someone hopes to get out of this will inevitably vary. Some people may want to become enlightened and obtain full comprehension of the world. Some people may want to unlock faculties such as clairvoyance or seeing auras etc. Some people just want to learn how to live in the moment, and be able to let everything go and reflect on what’s actually happening.

Of course if you’ve read this far I’m sure you’re wondering what my particular hope is. Why do I go to gnosis?

My ultimate goal is to find serenity (despite my blog’s name, and a beautiful “Serenity” banner I have, I only just worked this goal out over the last couple of months!). I want to move through my life without destroying it or others’. I want to be self-aware in a way that’s not judgmental and scolding, and grow to be a better person because of that awareness.

Gnosis has taught me a lot about my mind. I’ve had some significant ‘Ah-ha!’ moments about my behaviour. Meditation has given me faith that even I, Miss Hyper-Brain, can quiet my brain for 30 minutes plus. I’ve started using meditation as part of my going to sleep routine; instead of lying awake for hours meandering over stressful thoughts and perusing fun thoughts, I find the quiet and observe the thoughts without engaging them. They get bored, I get to sleep. Hooray!

I’m still wondering if the mediation thing will work off meds, but I’m not willing to try that out yet. Maybe in a year or so 😛

So that’s gnosis, for me. There is the included bonus of meeting wonderful people, and getting to see my teachers, and good friends, every week, who are amazing. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 10/11/2013 in Gnosis

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Gnosis?

  1. J.C

    11/11/2013 at 7:00 am

    Sounds really interesting! I didn’t know anything about this until reading your post, so thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
