RSS

A Day of Freedom

18 Jun

For the first time since my son was born three years ago, I am occupying my house ALONE for a decent amount of time. It’s AMAZING. Sorry about the all caps going on, but that is seriously how awesome it is. My music is as loud as I want it, and is whatever I want to listen to. I’ve done housework without being constantly asked questions. I’ve sat and had a cup of tea without being climbed all over. And now I get to write without the TV going in the background in an effort to distract the non-stop toddler. See? Bliss!

Thank gods for kindergarten, and thanks to our government for the 20hrs funding which means we can let Jake go. He’s been ready for this for a year (funding kicks in at 3yrs and then there’s a waiting list at all the kindys in my area thanks to the quakes) and now we’re both ecstatic about him going.

I’m really crook, I have a cold that’s turned into a sinus infection that’s now affecting my ears and today I feel worse than I did yesterday (only physically, internally I am soooo much better, lighter, calmer).

Before me being sick, Jake was sick. And before that I was having a “what’s the point?” crisis. Hence the long time of no blogging.

But ‘times, they are a changing’. With Jake at kindy I have this new ‘free time’ thing going on. Yesterday I curled up in bed and read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Excellent book, I recommend it to everyone. I read a whole book and I hardly feel guilty for doing so. How exciting! My husband is about to venture into the world of ‘job searching’. He’s finally realised that the company he works for sucks: they take him for granted whilst treating him like shit despite him being amazing at his job. (Well, actually, he’s known that for ages, but he still liked what his job was, and then he suddenly realised he actually now hates his job along with being treated like shit, and the two together demands a job change.) Bit nervous about how that will go, but hoping it will go well and that we’ll still be able to pay rent. If worst comes to worst, I’m very employable so I can go get more work, but I’m really hoping I can focus on me for a bit first. After all, this is the first time since being diagnosed and medicated that I’ve had any kind of time to myself. That’s exciting, and a little scary: now I’ll see just how far I have come.

First focus for me: Getting my house sorted. It’s a nightmarish state, and I’m hosting a party here on Sunday. I wasn’t planning on being this sick when I organised it. Oh well. Whatever happens happens.

If I can be sick and still smile, then you can get some smiles out too. Go on. 😀

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 18/06/2013 in General, Motherhood, Reading

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “A Day of Freedom

  1. J.C

    18/06/2013 at 3:16 pm

    Yay! so pleased Kindy is all go and you’re getting some much needed time off 🙂 Good luck getting your house sorted – Nati’s 3rd birthday party is in less than 2 weeks and I have that as a goal for getting mine done. Nice to have a deadline of sorts. Hope the writing goes well, and feel better soon!

     
  2. Fran

    18/06/2013 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks Cassie ❤

    Also, just got in the galley. *EXCITED*

     
  3. J.C

    18/06/2013 at 6:07 pm

    I know right??!?!?! It took me like 8 hours, but I finally managed to reply to mine.

     

Leave a Reply

 
