RSS

Suppression Released

10 May

I don’t talk about EFT often on here mainly because I don’t want this to become an EFT promotion page. I could easily be on here at least once a week sharing another breakthrough EFT (often along with other techniques) has given me. But this particular breakthrough is really, really huge.

It’s a commonly known fact that I remember nothing from before I was 5. I knew the memories were technically there, but I’d suppressed them and didn’t want to go there.

On Wednesday I watched a movie that unexpectedly triggered a pretty major breakdown. My hubby was away for work, so I was alone and at the point of curling up in a corner and rocking for a few days. I went to my mental sanctuary, which I don’t think I’ve talked about on here at all, but basically over the last year I’ve built up an internal sanctuary for my mind to find haven when I’m not in a good place. So I put my mind there, and found strength.

Instead of suppressing my emotional reaction and avoiding that movie at all costs in the future, I started using EFT to free myself of the emotional turmoil. I had to target a lot of different aspects, from, ‘even though I don’t want to know what happened when I was little,’ to, ‘even though I’m scared knowing will change everything,’ etc. Gradually I broke down the wall between the first memory I had (when I was walking through our new house on the West Coast; it was 2 days before my 5th birthday) and the nothing that was my preschool years.

What I then remembered was huge. Two huge memories that were the cause of all that suppression were freed, and remembered too clearly.

I did a lot of EFT on myself to deal with what was remembered. I had to, otherwise I might have never left the corner. After it all, I go on with life with the belief that things will be better now that I know, now that I can understand where a lot of my perceptions and understandings of the world come from and why it’s all so messed up.

And I also got a huge gift from my memory. I now have a memory of my Grandpa. He died shortly after we moved away, and because I never saw him since we moved, I never had a memory of him. Now I do. Now I know he really was a huge part of my life, and a really happy, positive part of it.

So EFT let me unlock the past, but also gave me the power to deal with what I found there.

Amazing. Before I started all this energy based healing I would have said that’s impossible and total BS, but I’m glad it’s not. I’m really glad there’s alternatives to spending hours talking to psychologists, and that they deliver far more than a lifetime of talk could deliver.

It’s not just EFT by itself that’s freed me. It’s a culmination of a lot of different teachings and techniques I’ve been exposed to over  my life but particularly in the last 10 months. EFT is the just the easiest one to be aware of as it’s got a physical element to it. For info on EFT and to learn how to do it (free!) go to www.garythink.com

Keep smiling, and if you’re not, then try a few rounds of EFT 😉

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Suppression Released

  1. J.C

    11/05/2013 at 8:40 am

    That’s so exciting Fran! Well done. I bet it feels amazing to be making progress, and to know that you have the tools for dealing with whatever crops up

     
  2. Fran

    11/05/2013 at 9:20 am

    It does 🙂 I said to Dale last night that I feel more whole now.
    Often it feels like progress is so slow, but I have to keep reminding myself that every day I’m learning new things. Looking back at last year the accumulated knowledge and understanding is huge, even if it did feel like slow going.

     

Leave a Reply

 
