RSS

“Finish”

31 Jan

In my wanderings of following links, a dangerous pass-time, I found my way to Gretchen Rubin’s book The Happiness Project. If I’d been at any other part in my life I would have passed it without interest, but on this particular day I thought, well, isn’t that what my life is at the moment: I’m trying to learn to let happy into my life.

So I read the some of the first chapter, signed up for a daily email “Happier at Home 21-Day Relationship Challenge,” and then stumbled on the first chapter of her book which those emails are based on, Happier at Home. Somewhere in there I ordered The Happiness Project, but I used Fishpond, so its ETA was last week and it hasn’t actually arrived.

In all this I’ve been pulling out little pieces of wisdom that I hadn’t already worked out for myself. Today’s Relationship Challenge email suggests “jump”, which is cool cos I actually bought a skipping rope the other day and have been doing just that, a very little, because it turns out it’s much harder now than when I was 10. Another day suggested “respond to the spirit of a gift”, in other words, it’s about the intention rather than the gift itself. I sometimes have to put a lot of effort into doing this, but it certainly helps keep relationships smooth!

One thing which appealed to me was “choose one word to set the tone for the next year.” I really wanted to find a word that would give me a push to achieve lots of things on my “hopes for 2013” list. I was going for long words, initially, but then thought the one thing I really want to be achieving this year is finishing things. And so, FINISH, is my word of the year. I wrote it on the wall (not quite literally, there’s some paper involved), got mocked by my husband, who asked if I was going to Finland, and, ignoring the spelling issue here, I told him he could interpret it however he pleases.

Now, whenever I flail about thinking, “what now?!” I look at the little poster and re-focus. Okay, so what needs to be finished? And I get on and at least get something closer to being finished. So, with January about to finish, I’m happily reflecting on the things I got finished.

Did you finish anything this month? Is there a word that encompasses the spirit of your 2013?

Time to go finish breakfast and get on with the day šŸ˜‰

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 31/01/2013 in General, Happiness

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to ““Finish”

  1. J.C

    01/02/2013 at 12:13 pm

    This year is all about finishing things for me too šŸ™‚ I finally finished reading Perdido Street Station, I have managed 2 weeks of The Artist Way and am going to see it through to the end this year. I am going to finish this novella and submit it, and I am going to finish my novel and submit it.
    I finished the first draft of this novella in January, and a short story as well. And that book. So a good start to the year!

     
  2. Fran

    01/02/2013 at 12:20 pm

    well done!!! It’s such a nice feeling to finish things off šŸ™‚

     
  3. Beaulah

    04/02/2013 at 6:53 pm

    You’re so awesome Fran! I’d love to finish my second book =0 Do you think it’s possible?

     
  4. Fran

    04/02/2013 at 10:01 pm

    Definitely. It’s only Feb, and look how much you’ve already done! Who knows, maybe by NaNo you’ll be set to churn out the first 50k of book 3 šŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
