RSS

What do you mean it’s 2013?

01 Jan

I’m assuming my cat ate 2012, as I’m here now wondering how we got from July ’12 to January ’13 and eyeing up these suspicious scraps of time and my cat’s refusing-to-be-guilty face, and thinking perhaps the two go together.

And in there I was waiting for the world to end, and it didn’t, so that was disappointing. Gonna drop by the calendar shop later and get me a new Mayan calendar cos my last one ran out.

The overwhelming roll through NaNo then on to Christmas is finally all over. I won NaNo ’12 (wooo!! Go Fran). I still don’t have a finished first draft of a novel but Entangled is now sitting at 75,000 words. Through December I worked on a long short story which has a working title of Evacuation. I hoped to submit it for the Au Contraire Regeneration competition, but I just wasn’t happy with it when submissions closed. I will probably do something with it once I’m done with editing.

2013 is going to be a steady year I hope. Aiming for no breakdowns and somewhat consistent productivity level. For the first time ever, publishing has made it onto my goals for the year, whether I self-publish or get something traditionally published has not been thought about, and it will really depend on what opportunities come up and what stories I get finished.

I’m planning to do some knitting blogging here. One of my creative outlets is knitting and creating knit patterns. I’d like to collect together some photos of what I’ve done and maybe have my patterns accessible. One project I have to do this year is socks. My friend brought me back some sock wool from Germany, so I have to learn how to knit socks before winter (and maybe learn German so I know what I’m knitting with 😉 ), but right now it’s about 30° C and socks are not being thought about. I’ll stick with knitting owls for a bit longer. Also, hopefully soon there will be dragon things happening.

First and foremost I’ll be continuing to be a full-time mum. Jake starts kindy at some point during the year, but there’s waiting lists on this side of the city so I don’t know when he’ll get in. Till then he will continue to delight me and frustrate me 24/7.

So Happy New Year everyone, and I hope your 2013 is all you want it to be and more.

Keep Smiling 😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 01/01/2013 in General

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “What do you mean it’s 2013?

  1. J.C

    03/01/2013 at 4:20 pm

    Happy New Year!!

    They extended the deadline for Regeneration until the end of January, so you have oodles of time to get it done to your tastes and submitted. Too good an opportunity to pass up 😉

     
  2. redfox

    04/01/2013 at 6:13 pm

    Oh wow!!! Awesome! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
