RSS

Be Kind to Yourself

09 Oct

“Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind.”—Henry James.

I’ve always very much lived by the rule that being kind to others is pretty much the meaning of life.

It’s actually only quite recently that I’ve accepted that one of the people (and perhaps the only person) you need to be kind to is yourself. This is strangely difficult when you’ve spent all of your life putting others first. Putting others first is a tricky habit to break, and even when I’m actually trying to be kind to myself I struggle to identify exactly what it is that I need or want. And then when I do actually do something for myself then the guilt comes along with it, which negates all happy feelings and sends endorphins fleeing.

I’ve spent a huge amount of time on this, and I’m happier for it. I still struggle with guilt, and giving myself permission to even do something for myself, but certainly over the last week I’m taking time for myself and not feeling so guilty about it because I’ve realised that, actually, if I feel better and content, everyone around me will benefit.
So being kind to yourself is being kind to others.
Keep smiling 😀
 
5 Comments

Posted by on 09/10/2012 in General, Mental Health

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Be Kind to Yourself

  1. Beaulah

    10/10/2012 at 8:07 am

    I so totally agree – and thank you for reminding me. I need to have some ‘being kind to me’ time!

     
  2. J.C

    10/10/2012 at 9:49 am

    Its much easier to be kind to others than to be kind to yourself. I’m still struggling with this one.

     
  3. redfox

    10/10/2012 at 12:44 pm

    It is so hard, especially when you’re so used to putting yourself last!
    Thank you for sharing your EFT exp with me too. It’s made such a dramatic change in my life, I’m glad you use it too. I want everyone to use it lol, but I think you have to be very open-minded to try it and I doubt if I’d been told about it even a year ago I would have decided it was BS.

     
  4. redfox

    10/10/2012 at 12:46 pm

    You do 🙂 and being kind to yourself is more reliable that hoping someone else will be nice to you at some point.

     
  5. J.C

    10/10/2012 at 3:59 pm

    haha whenever I introduce it to anyone I am up front – look, this is going to sound whacky, and you’re going to feel like a real dork, but trust me, put those thoughts aside for a bit and you’ll totally see that it works afterwards!

     

Leave a Reply

 
