RSS

Things are Finally Clicking

18 Jul

First of all, a big thank you to all those who came by and read my blogfest entry. I didn’t get to read as many as I wanted but I thoroughly enjoyed those that I did. I still hope to read more.

My writing has moved in leaps and bounds. I think my muse has left me behind actually; I’m still trying to write scene one, while she’s exploring what happens around climax time. That’s cool. I don’t want to rock the boat on this one ’cause her loyalty is pretty shaky at the moment.

So, what am I working on? Things stalled pretty quick with Forbidden Knowledge. Still not sure why, but hey, we’ll come back to that one. In my efforts to procrastinate I opened Holly Lisle’s Create a Plot Clinic. I bought it years ago and I never really got into it. This time, however, things clicked. I realised why the piece I was working on last NaNo stalled, what it needs, and how to fulfill that need.

I’m not sure I’ve ever discussed this piece on my blog, so here’s a basic rundown. It’s literary fiction exploring truth, deceit and perceptions. My MC is Evie. She’s got a drug addict history that she’s trying to escape and hide from all her new acquaintances. Things surface (at a very inopportune time of course) and… I don’t know yet, but things will get messy, I am sure. The story is most likely going to be from a variety of POVs of other major characters.

This story is very much character driven. I have near 50k written, most of which is irrelevant now that I know what the point is, but these words helped me get to know my characters so it’s not a waste.

It’s great having this story back on track. I love working on it and my characters are just delicious. I’m still debating whether I should use first person or third person perspective. Most of what I have is in first, but I’m not convinced it’s right. But it’s a pretty minor issue for me, what matters is that my muse and I are on the same page now, and we’ll get this story finished (eventually).

So back to writing. I hope your writing’s going awesome too 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 18/07/2010 in Writing

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
