RSS

Nothing Wrong With Genre Fiction

07 Jul

I’ve mentioned the writing paper I did and the issues it created several times before. One of the things drilled into us was that genre fiction (from speculative fiction through to romance and all genres in between) was, very basically, what inept writers write. I stopped dabbling with fantasy and a lot of my work got shelved as I started this new, ‘literary fiction’, trend.

While my SoCNoC attempt was more fantasy-ish, I couldn’t settle into it. I still don’t know what the wall I’ve hit is, but I’ll overcome it in time. It may just be where my head’s at.

I spent some time reading a YA fantasy novel by WritersBlockNZ and gave her a heap of feedback, and that made me think about my old friend, Forbidden Knowledge. I haven’t touched it in forever, or even thought about it really, but I opened it up today and read some of the first chapter.

It needs a lot of work, but it’s not complete rubbish πŸ™‚ and I feel more comfortable working on this. When I write fantasy I feel like I’m torn between what I want to write and what I should write. It’s taken me this long to face what I’ve really known all along, write what you like.

I’ve always read fantasy. I love it. I love YA fantasy and Sherryl Jordan is on my favourite authors list. Time to stop suppressing this desire to write fantasy, shelve the guilt I feel for doing so, and go back to Forbidden Knowledge to fill in the gaps, and get it to a point where I can say, “I’ve written a novel”. That’s more impressive than, “I’ve been writing some literary fiction”, which is generally responded with “oh, what’s literary fiction?”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 07/07/2010 in Writing

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Nothing Wrong With Genre Fiction

  1. Kerryn

    08/07/2010 at 7:42 am

    Good on you. When I first read the title of this post I mentally changed it to ‘Everything Right About Genre Fiction’. I absolutely *hate* the attitude that genre fiction is some how “less” than literary fiction.

     
  2. J.C

    08/07/2010 at 9:23 am

    me too! I loathe that paper for all the negativity it induces about genre. pleased you’re working around it though and embracing genre love!

     
  3. redfox

    08/07/2010 at 4:50 pm

    That would have been a better title I think Kerryn. Titles and I don’t get along so well πŸ˜‰

     
  4. redfox

    08/07/2010 at 4:52 pm

    I think the worst thing for me is that I had such high expectations of the paper so I let it really affect me. It’s taken over a year to reverse some of the damage, but it feels so good to be writing my fantasy stuff again πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
