RSS

The ‘Why’ Behind the ‘What’

10 Jun

I got to a stopping point in the flash back scene I’ve been working on. It’s turned into a really long scene, and I think when I edit it will probably get its own chapter. It’s not quite finished, but I’m happy with it. There’s been twists and turns and an unexpected death which turns out is essential to the development of the story. It’s right on track to end where it needs to, I just had to stop for a bit.

Some aspects of the story weren’t quite fitting, but the thing that was really bugging me was that there was no real reason for the story. I had the story, but why did it need to be told?

I sat back and knitted for a while. I love knitting because you feel like you’re achieving something but you are free to think. Kinda like housework, but more meditative and satisfying, and it’s still done the next day 😉 (I’m knitting Cassie’s new baby a hat. It’s very exciting.)

And I got to thinking. Suddenly, I don’t even know what was going on in my brain, I think I was playing “what if?” for a bit, but suddenly my MC turned into a male and a million things clicked into place. Suddenly there was more emotion and complexity, and a reason to tell the story.

I can’t really explain the process, because I don’t understand it myself, but it worked, and I had a beginning for my story, and a working title: “Memoirs of an Assassin” or maybe “The Assassin’s Memoirs”. I’m not 100% sure, but it’s been a long day so I’m not sure on anything at this point. (Got up at 4am, it’s now 11pm. I’m not manic, just tired. I’ve analysed myself a bit to make sure, well, as sure as I can be. Hmm. I sense circles happening here. I really think it’s time for bed.)

I’m not sure I made a point let alone the point I wanted to make, but I’ll hit publish anyway.

So, I wrote heaps today. It was great. Even word warred, tho that was interrupted by crying baby. It’s really nice to be in the thick of it again. (Yes, that’s all this needed to say. I got there eventually.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 10/06/2010 in Writing

 

Tags:

2 responses to “The ‘Why’ Behind the ‘What’

  1. J.C

    11/06/2010 at 4:05 pm

    Sounds like fun! Are you changing the MC to a male then? so funny when that happens!

     
  2. ritski

    11/06/2010 at 4:30 pm

    Yay for knitting. The balm of hurt minds.

     

Leave a Reply

 
