RSS

Meant to be Writing

06 Jun

I have been writing. My 750 words have been written for the day (sixth day running, I’m impressed with myself), and I’ve done a few hundred on my HalfNoC novel which really needs a working name. I’ll work on that.

It took several days of cogitation but finally I found the character that is going to carry this story, so after writing 1k yesterday I signed up for HalfNoC. My story is about a women who is betrayed by her sister then is forced to accept that everything she was raised to believe is morally wrong and she must find the courage to betray her country in the hope that she can initiate change. (I read somewhere it’s good to write a sentence encapsulating what your work is about so you have something to refer back to when you lose your way. This is my very rusty sentence I just wrote and it’s subject to change as I get to know my characters and their world. If you know where I read this can you let me know where it was?)

I did the math, and I have to write 1k a day to win. That’s not really all that much. I know I can do it. It’s maybe an hours work if the words are flowing (like yesterday), several hours work if I don’t really know what direction it’s going in (like today).

I need to find some tactics for finding my direction so when I sit down to write the words are right there. It’s much nicer to write that way, more calming and yet also more exciting, somehow. I don’t like writing when my only motivation is that I have to produce ‘X amount of words’ by the end of the day. The time drags, and the words feel awkward as I force them onto the page, almost as if they’ve become stickers that have lost most of their stick so each word has to be pressed hard and if it refuses to stick completely an alternative has to be found. It’s tiring, and for me that’s not what writing is meant to be like. There’s also the ‘giving up’ part of writing like that too, or, mid-work procrastination, like what I’m doing now. It’s not good for the writing.

Now to non-writing related topics for a moment. We got Jake’s cot yesterday (we tried to on Fri but it wouldn’t fit in my brother’s car) and so he’s now sleeping in that. He settled himself in half an hour the first sleep he had in it and we thought ‘awesome, this will be easy’. Then he was put to bed for his night sleep and he refused to settle. He was upset for about an hour and a half, until finally I opted to give him another bottle to settle him and he fell asleep on me so I put him in his cot and he slept for about six hours (yay!). After his night feed he settle quickly because he was mostly asleep when he was put in there, and the same story for this morning. I’m hoping that if I put him in there wide awake he’ll be able to settle himself now.

He’s just woken up so off to be a mum πŸ™‚ .

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 06/06/2010 in Motherhood, Writing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Meant to be Writing

  1. J.C

    06/06/2010 at 2:56 pm

    I think that thing about a sentence summarising the story is from Holly Lisle? I know Kerryn uses it and I think she got it from one of Holly’s courses.

    Hope the cot transition continues to go well, sounds pretty good so far πŸ™‚

     
  2. redfox

    07/06/2010 at 3:53 pm

    Awesome, thanks Cassie, that’s exactly where it’s from. I was reading something about Holly Lisle a few weeks back. Obviously that bit stuck, though the rest of it didn’t.

    The cot transistion is exhausting, but there’s so many variables I’m not entirely sure what’s going on. It’s possible that he’s just decided that sleeping during the day is not really his thing, because he slept all night last night; I just had to get up once and settle him, but he wasn’t actually awake so he didn’t get a feed. That counts as an all nighter to me πŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
