RSS

Keeping Me On My Toes

27 May

I’ve been writing. Boy, have I been writing. Over 2k has just flowed out of me. It hasn’t even been hard work. It helps that this is a baseline, raw exploratory draft, so I can just let the fingers do the work. When I find myself in a corner I stop because I get frustrated thinking I’ve ruined it, but then my lovely character guides me out in a direction I didn’t even think possible.

It’s exciting. It’s like reading a really good book that I don’t want to put down, and when I do I have to get back to it, because I want to know what’s going to happen next. I’m not sure I’ve ever written anything that’s been this exciting before.

I’m also pleased to discover I can type quite easily while Jake is sleeping on me :). Yay for laptops.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 27/05/2010 in Writing

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Keeping Me On My Toes

  1. J.C

    28/05/2010 at 7:51 am

    yay for laptops indeed! You do find all kinds of ways around sleeping babies – we had a wrap which was just wonderful, two free hands and a snoozing baby! Very cool to hear how exciting this is for you, can’t wait to hear more about it!

     
  2. redfox

    28/05/2010 at 8:47 am

    I bought a sling of trademe, but it’s total crap. I’d like a wrap, but by the time I get around to buying one it will be too late it’s so low on my priorities list. I’m lucky he sleeps so well in his bassinette. We’ll be switching to a cot next weekend. That could get interesting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
