RSS

Mid-year’s resolution

09 Jul

It’s time to lose some weight. I know some of you will laugh at the thought of this post (Dale!), or assume I’ve slipped completely into insanity land (which may be true) but I’m serious. I’ve always been determined to stay smaller than my older sister, but she’s huge (well, really big anyway, I haven’t seen her in a long time, and photos aren’t very accurate on the weight side of things, but she looks huge in any photos I’ve seen), so that’s not really a challenge.

But I am overweight. I know it, and everyone who knows me knows it, they just don’t say it cos it’s not socially acceptable. Well, some people say it. The first thing Dad said when they came to Palmy 3yrs ago was “you’ve put on weight”, and when I saw an old co-worked in Jan she said pretty much the same thing. Until now I’ve been able to blame it on the student lifestyle, but I don’t really have that excuse anymore. It’s time to get back to the healthy weight I was before I moved to Palmy.

So, I went to the Warehouse and bought some flash scales (apparently all scales are flash these days, what happened to the ones that don’t neeed batteries?), and have downloaded a 30 day running schedule from the Push Play website. Today I ran 2k!! That gets exclamation marks cos I haven’t run any kind of distance for over 10 yrs (yes, I walked some of the way, I’m not superwoman).

I also bought some Special K, which got me a $10 off voucher for a pair of jeans from good old Jeans West. I’m not going to diet, cos I don’t like the whole die aspect of it, but I am going to eat a bit healthier, and do this whole running thing, plus some toning exercises afterwards.

The goal is to get down to 70kg in 2 months, cos that’s in the healthy range for my height (although ultimately I want to be back at 65kg). Today (before the run) I weighed in at 77.9kg, so that’s pretty much 1kg a week, which should be easy, although I have never ever trying to lose weight before so I’m not sure how this will work out.

I’m planning to do a weight loss update on here once a week, to try keep me on track. Fingers crossed I can stick with this for a good amount of time.

I haven’t quite worked out a reward for doing this, but I guess it’s just being fit and healthy.

By they way, I hurt all over already, but I will persevere!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 09/07/2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Mid-year’s resolution

  1. Kerryn

    09/07/2009 at 10:22 pm

    Good luck! I know exactly the position you’re in and look forward to your updates.

     
  2. J.C

    10/07/2009 at 7:41 am

    Good on you! I was lying in bed thinking about this for myself last night, and am going to hit the Warehouse for scales myself! Cept, I’m going to hide them from the girls because I don’t want them to grow up with a mother neurotic about weight, I don’t think it’s a good message! That said, it’s so easy to put on a little weight and have no idea when you aren’t weighing in regularly… so yes.
    Great that you went for a massive run! I’m going to start by walking (today will be the first) and exercycling on the days it’s raining. I so want to be a better role model for the girls. Not dieting either, though definitely not eating as much junk food as I might like! Good luck, I’ll be cheering you on. You don’t have much to lose, be thankful of that! lol I’ve got a lot further to go…

     
  3. dada

    10/07/2009 at 11:01 am

    Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.

     
  4. redfox

    10/07/2009 at 11:17 am

    Thanks Kerryn!
    Cassie, I know what you mean. I’ve done the gym thing a few times over the years, but I’m just not dedicated enough. Even today, with my aching body, I’m going to be hard pressed convincing myself to go for a run.
    Definitely start slow. I’ve been walking pretty much everywhere since I left home, so that’s helped things not get too much out of control. But I think running as far as I did was jumping into the deep end of the pool and then realising I can’t actually swim (that was a metaphor, I can swim lol).
    Best of luck! Check out the Press Play website, and http://www.nz.mapometer.com (which is fun to play on, 🙂 )

     

Leave a Reply

 
