RSS

Pulling myself together

23 May

It’s been a hard week, but I’ve made it through mostly in one piece. As I’ve said before, I think, May is one of the bad months for me. I am glad it is nearly over.

The Xbox 360 is broken 😦 . We had some random power surges last night (not lightening related or I would have unplugged everything), and now it keeps freezing all the time. I said to Dale, kinda as a joke, we should write it off and stick with non-Microsoft products, and he’s taken it as an invitation to buy a PS3 to replace it. He said something last night about a bonus trade thing for staff that was going to be happening so he was trying to convince me to let him trade the PS2, but I still play some of the old classics like Jak and God of War, and so now he’s said we’ll have to get the 60GB model so we can still play them. Seems there is no way out of this one, as long as the 360 doesn’t have to be traded in as broken. It is still under warrenty, but that means little when it comes to power surges.

I risked the freezing temperatures (that’s a hyperbole, but not by much) outside today to go to the Red Cross book sale. I couldn’t not as it was just around the corner. I bought 6 books for $15! yay! It was $5 over my budget, but I couldn’t say no. I got Hemingway For Whom the Bell Tolls; Conrad The Nigger of the ‘Narcissus’/Typhoon/and other stories; Eliot Adam Bede; BrontΓ« Villette; The Works of P.B. Shelley; and Tolstoy War and Peace, of which I do already have a copy, but this is a different translation of it (yes, I need both versions). The only problem is my bookshelves are already full, they needed serious rearranging when I came back from Wellington with books (thanks again parentals) to make them fit, and now there is simply no way to squeeze the new ones on. We have a couple of boxes of books still at Grandmum’s too, so when we move we will have to aquire a few new bookshelves.

I also just got an email saying how much I will get paid for the last bit of writing I did which was very exciting as a) I feel like a real writer, and b) makes me think I can actually be a writer as my career. All my writing related income is going into my savings account at the moment to go towards something special to celebrate making money off my writing (not sure what yet, maybe a giant dictionary. That would be awesome).

I need to get writing creatively again. Problem is I have no desire to write at the moment, probably partly due to what happened on Wednesday.

Turns out the 360 has the dreaded 3 red lights. No getting around dealing with microsoft now, *sigh*. That’s what you get for going Microsoft in the first place. I can already hear my dad laughing at me πŸ˜› .

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 23/05/2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Pulling myself together

  1. dada

    24/05/2009 at 11:57 am

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

     
  2. Gr3m1in

    26/05/2009 at 10:11 am

    Whilst playing Xbox you have acquired a Red Ring of Light. Equip and roll an even to deal with Tech support, or an odd to smash the Vile Beast into a million pieces.

     

Leave a Reply

 
