RSS

Workshop time part 2

20 May

The workshop went ok, most of the comments were ones I expected. What I didn’t expect was Thom’s treatment of my story. His comments suggest he didn’t even read it thoroughly, or even read it at all really, and his suggestion for revision was the stupidest suggestion ever because then I would be writing a huge cliche. I feel betrayed. I invested myself as a student and as a writer, and in return he didn’t bother investing himself as a reader and failed in his tutor obligations. After a lot of tears, and a lot of yelling, and some lingustics to bring the mind back into working logically, I’ve somewhat recovered.

I learned a long long time ago, write what your teacher wants you to write. I thought for a change I wouldn’t, and I would write something I was emotionally invested in, and it backfired. I blame it all on cultural differences; I didn’t write for an American, I wrote for a New Zealand audience.

So I’m busy picking up the pieces of my shattered soul. Luckily I had a friend to talk to who went through a similar experience with the first round of workshopping. Still breathing, albeit resentfully.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 20/05/2009 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Workshop time part 2

  1. J.C

    20/05/2009 at 8:56 pm

    oh hun, i am SO sorry!! I can say that I know exactly how you feel on this one, and it’s a real shame 😦 Just remember that he is ONLY one reader, his opinion is just that. Besides, if you’ve read some of his stuff it’s not that flash anyways 😉 lol

     
  2. Kerryn

    20/05/2009 at 9:23 pm

    And that is the problem with academics. Take away from it what you can but if you’re writing for one person instead of for yourself then that’s just not going to work for either of you.

     
  3. dada

    21/05/2009 at 9:35 am

    Keep your eyes on the goal, get the marks finish the paper. There’s always going to be people you think will get your art that don’t.

     

Leave a Reply

 
