RSS

Workshop time

19 May

Tomorrow my story is getting workshopped, which, for those non-writing types out there, means my class mates (& tutor) get to sit around talking about my story while I’m not allowed to speak until the end when I can ask questions at which point I will say “thank you for your helpful comments”. But, tomorrow is going to be different, and I’m feeling quite scared now. Tomorrow our artist in residence, Glenn Colquhoun, is going to be sitting in on our class (apparently he needs to learn about workshopping). So, in short, a very talented, famous writer is going to read my story at some point between now and then and may comment on it tomorrow. Oh God. (If you don’t know Glenn Colquhoun then Google him. He is amazing. If you ever have a chance to go to one of his readings then definately go!)

What doesn’t help is that I’m in the middle of a breakdown at the moment here anyway. To the point where I was sitting in the dining hall crying. And for so long I have prided my self-control when it came to that stuff cos I hadn’t cried in public in so long (except for the last breakdown, last month, but that had a rock solid reason, whereas this one is just Fran being Fran). I was so glad I wasn’t getting workshopped today (I was meant to be) as I would have been crying before they even began rather than sneaking out for a few secret tears after.

But it’s just shit getting to be too much for me. That essay that was due yesterday has been fully researched, but everytime I sit down to write it the words come all wrong, so it’s still not done. And my big one for Thursday (for linguistics) has completely flopped. I wish I spoke a few other languages as then I wouldn’t be reliant on stupid confusing grammar text books for information. And me & Abby are having issues, I think. I don’t know, I’m so confused in that area. I can’t be bothered typing all that drama, not to mention I despise typing friend dramas cos they are so stupid anyway, so if you don’t know what’s going on there then oh well, you’re not really missing out on anything.

On the bright side, I got another A+ for linguistics. Half a mark down on my first assignment, but oh well. It’s awesome cos I have already passed over 1/4 of this paper and there’s still another assignment and then the exam. Heaps of room to earn points. I wish I was so confident in English Lit papers seeing as they are the ones I actually need to pass.

So, I’m going to stop ranting now, as I feel that is all this post has been. But then what is a blog for if not to rant.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 19/05/2009 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Workshop time

  1. dada

    19/05/2009 at 10:45 pm

    lov u, don’t be sad, nothing is so big that we can’t overcome in together!

     
  2. redfox

    20/05/2009 at 9:34 am

    Thank you. I’m feeling better today. Just s**t scared about this workshop. It’s going to be… Interesting.
    I’ll blog about it if I’m not shattered all over the classroom.

     
  3. Kerryn

    20/05/2009 at 9:21 pm

    Good luck for the workshop! I hate that overwhelmed feeling. I hope you find your way out of it. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
