RSS

Writing

02 Feb

In order to get past my lack of desire to sit at the computer and get typing I decided to do it the old fashioned way. I got some refill and my parker pen and sat down (well, lay down on the bed) and wrote. It felt so good! The words just flowed out and although I often thought “man, this is pretty crap,” IĀ  pushed it aside with, “I can fix it as I type it up,” and just kept going. I am working on my short story for the collection challenge, and have almost finished the first part. The second part is going to be all new so I’m looking forward to getting the first part finished so I can move on. Then when it’s all typed I’ll do a final edit and email it off to my friend Heather who has offered to read it over šŸ™‚ .

Because I don’t need to write every day it’s easy for me to fall into not writing creatively. The main side effect is that I get quite depressed when I don’t write. Already after writing 5 pages (double spaced) I feel lighter and happier, and maybe even up to getting out of the dressing gown and getting dressed, although it’s 5:30 pm so there’s not much point.

I’ve also spent a lot of time meditating on Forbidden Knowledge today; the world and the events in the novel, why they are relevant and how I can make them smoother. I also drew a picture inspired by some Viking art of a tree endemic to my world. Seemingly random, I know, but it’s an aspect of the world I had to tackle so I feel better now I have.

I’ll try get the first part of the short story finished tonight šŸ˜€ .

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 02/02/2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
